8th Asian Conference on Quantum Information Science

August 25-31, 2008

Tutorial: August 25-26,   Main conference:  August 27-30,

  Special Programs: August 31

                                                                                                      KIAS, Seoul, Korea


camera copy.GIF







(Links are under construction)


  The AQIS¡¯08 meeting will focus on recent advances  in  quantum information science and technology. This  is an interdisciplinary field that bridges quantum  physics, computer science, mathematics, and  computing technologies. AQIS¡¯08 will be the natural  successor of the meetings EQIS¡¯01-EQIS¡¯05 and AQIS¡¯  06-AQIS¡¯07. AQIS¡¯08, by tradition, will consist of  invited talks, selected oral presentations and posters,  and other activities. Contributions for short  communications and posters are solicited in the  research areas that relate to quantum information  science and technology, both theory and  experiments. This includes, but is not limited to:

  • Quantum algorithms and complexity theory
  • Quantum cryptography
  • Quantum information theory
  • Quantum entanglement, non-locality
  • Quantum error correction, decoherence
  • Quantum optics, NMR, and solid-state technologies
  • Quantum processors and computers design schemes

 Conference will be preceded by tutorials by leading  experts and followed by focused workshops and  excursions. AQIS'08 will have preproceedings and  selected papers will be published in special issues of  international journals. AQIS'08 will be a fully open  conference where anyone can make submissions for  oral presentation or/and posters, as well as to  suggest an accompanying workshop or tutorial.

 Important Dates: (all in 2008)

  • Deadlines for Tutorials submissions: May 30
  • Deadlines for Oral/Poster Submissions: June 29
  • Notification of Acceptance: July 20
  • Final Manuscript Deadline: August 3
  • (Early) Registration Deadline: August (5) 17
        (all at 11:59 p.m. in US Pacific Standard Time)

 Organizing Committee:

 Jaewan Kim (KIAS, Seoul, Chair)

 Jae-Weon Lee (KIAS, Seoul)

 Shigeru Yamashita (NAIST, Nara)

 Raymond Ooi (Korea University, Seoul)

Steering Committee Chair:  

Jozef Gruska (Masaryk University, Brno)


Conference Chairs:   

Jaewan Kim (KIAS, Seoul)

Hai-Woong Lee (KAIST, Daejeon)


Key Note Speakers:

Sandu Popescu (University of Bristol)

Anton Zeilinger (University of Vienna/IQOQI)


Invited Speakers:

Nicolas Gisin (University of Geneva)

Won-Young Hwang (Chonnam University)

Gerard Milburn (University of Queensland)

John Smolin (IBM, Yorktown Heights)

Akihisa Tomita (ERATO-SORST/NEC, Japan)

Suhail Zubairy (Texas A&M University)


Program Committee:

Charles H. Bennett (IBM, Yorktown Heights, Co-Chair)

Berge Englert (National University of Singapore)

Nicolas Gisin (University of Geneva)

Guang-Can Guo (US&T, Hefei, Co-Chair)

Masahito Hayashi (Tohoku University)

Mark Hillery (CUNY)

Daniel Gottesman (Perimeter Institute)

Hiroshi Imai (University of Tokyo/ERATO-SORST, Chair)

Nobuyuki Imoto (Osaka University)

Richard Jozsa (University of Bristol)

Jaewan Kim (KIAS, Seoul, Co-Chair)

Soon-Chil Lee (KAIST, Daejeon, Co-Chair)

Fu-Li Li (Xi¡¯an Jiaotong University)

Hoi-Kwong Lo (University of Toronto)

Stefano Mancini (Universita¡¯ di Camerino)

Michele Mosca (University of Waterloo, Co-Chair)

Kae Nemoto (NII, Tokyo)

Jian-Wei Pan (University of Heidelberg/US&T, Hefei)

Peter Shor (MIT)

Shigeki Takeuchi (Hokkaido University)

Jason Twamley (Macquari University)

Vlatko Vedral (University of Leeds)

Gregor Weihs (University of Waterloo)

Andreas Winter (University of Bristol)

Shigeru Yamashita (NAIST, Nara)

Suhail Zubairy (Texas A&M University, Co-Chair)